personality

Hello CUNY SPS Community,

I recently attended orientation for my fall internship at a major news organization.

The internship seems to be really well organized and structured, and one of the things I most enjoyed was the career development sessions. One thing we did was take the Myers-Briggs Type Indicator. This is a personality test that is designed to indicate psychological preferences in how people perceive the world and make decisions. I was really fascinated by this process and the results, because I felt that they were surprisingly accurate!

I had never taken a personality test before, but was recently encouraged to because I have been doing a lot of soul searching and career development/goal setting in my own life. I think it is important that your passions align with your strengths, and so I was excited to find out what I may be more inclined to doing well and enjoying at the same time.

I was identified as an INFJ, which, according to the Human Metrics website are distinguished by both their complexity of character and the unusual range and depth of their talents. Strongly humanitarian in outlook, INFJs tend to be idealists, and because of their J preference for closure and completion, they are generally “doers” as well as dreamers. INFJ’s also make up less than one percent of the population, and I was pleasantly surprised to discover fellow INFJ’s include Mother Teresa, Martin Luther King Jr., and Gandhi.

The description included that INFJ’s have strong writing skills, and are deeply concerned with the state of humanity at large. They make good counselors, psychologists, healthcare providers, social workers, and public servants.

I was extremely intrigued by the description of my type, as I have been wrestling with my interests in writing, psychology, mental health, and pursuing a career in which I can really make a difference in the lives of others. I have always known I want to help people and make a difference in the world. I find that I have so many interests, it is sometimes hard to choose just one path. In my ideal world I’d become a journalist, psychologist, public interest lawyer, and get a PhD, but alas, where is the time?!

As I begin to apply to graduate school and look at careers beyond my December graduation (from CUNY SPS with my Bachelor’s Degree in Communications and Media), I think that this assessment was an invaluable resource for me to confirm my strengths and interests and work towards an end goal in which I am passionate and capable.

I strongly suggest anyone who may be searching for their ideal career, or simply trying to identify their strengths and weaknesses to take the test. I’m so glad I did!

I’d love to know what everyone’s type is, let me know in the comments!

Until Next Time.

Best,
Emily Towner

Emily Towner is a Communications and Media student at CUNY SPS. After graduation she intends to pursue graduate studies in the field of mental health. She has a background in journalism, and seeks to use her skills in communication to make an impact in the lives of others.

