When I was a social work student studying for my MSW, my professor said that every family is built on an economic “floor.” In other words, families need a certain level of income in order to be stabile. The more holes in the floor, the more unstable the family, triggering the need for social services & income supports.

Despite the fact that fast food workers will soon be able to make $15 an hour, the living wage debate is still continuing. On the evening of Thursday, 10/08, there will be an event in support of a real living wage in New York City. Check out the link to find out more at http://www.reallivingwagenyc.org/.

I don’t know exactly what will be happening, but I hope to check it out. Maybe I’ll see some of you there and we can debrief the whole event later.

Rhonda Harrison is currently studying at CUNY SPS to earn her post-graduate certificate in Adult Learning & Program Design. She is a social worker with a background in workforce development and currently works as an Advisor at a community college.

