Ever felt like you were on a never-ending roller-coaster ride and THAT was your life?

There’s something about being on a ‘coaster that makes you feel like you are not in control. You are just experiencing the ride, but should it take a sharp turn left or right, you are just going to have to grin and bear it, or scream your head off, because you are not in control.

Or so you think. Who told you to get on that ride anyway? Oh….I see.

And life feels like that sometimes.

But it’s important to remember that there’s choices you can make to prevent or even mitigate the crazy freefall you think is approaching.

I remember living day-to-day with that crazy anxious feeling in my chest. Like, how am I going to get through today? I know I’m strong, but damn, this is killing me. I feel like a rubbed out eraser.

Things changed for me when I began to see my inner turmoil reflected in my external world. There’s nothing like seeing the ceiling collapsing all around you to realize that what you thought you were holding up….had been falling down all along. Do you understand?

Over the past year or so I’ve devoted myself to the new motto “no new business,” and what it means is that I have the power to say “no,” to set my own limits, to focus on my own goals, to slow down, to stop, to make changes, to remove or stay away from people and situations that hurt me, and so on.

“No new business” means I’ve got enough on my plate and I’m just trying to deal with what I’ve got on my plate right now. I love you, but, I can’t help you right now. I have to help myself right now. But as soon as I’m okay, I’ll do what I can. I can’t help you from a hospital bed, right?

“No new business” means saying to yourself, I work full-time, I’m in school, I’m a parent, I’m trying to improve my health, maybe work on a personal hobby or passion, and that’s about all I can handle at this moment. And THAT’S OKAY. I’m not a superhero, I’m just human.

And as we enter into the fall and get supercharged up to do this and do that and do this and do that—I say, slow down. You don’t have to ride every roller-coaster in the park. Just pick one or two. And maybe it doesn’t have to have that loop-di-loop either.  Just chill, do what you can do, and be happy with that. And allow others in your life, who want this and that, to also be happy that you are taking care of you.

“Perhaps too much of everything is as bad as too little.” —Edna Ferber

Christina is passionate about teaching and helping others, social justice, and business ownership. She has a BA in English from George Washington University and a MA in Education from Howard University. She is currently completing a MS in Business Management and Leadership at CUNY SPS. After 10 years of teaching in public and private schools, she’s chosen to focus on helping women and minority owned small businesses succeed and give back so that her families, friends, and communities can thrive.

