OMG!!!

Help!!!

Let’s talk about the Freshman 15.  I know we have all heard about the extra pounds that college students tend to gain during their 1st year, but what I don’t understand is why am I gaining weight. Technically I am not a freshman and isn’t the Freshman 15 for students living away at college, in a dorm?

Or so I thought.

LOL!

I really believed that because I am an older college student who is online and not on campus that I was immune to it.

LOL!

Not.

The Freshman 15 is real and it is not partial to any particular age, sex, or college standing. 🙂

I have officially gained 10 lbs since August 28th. So my message today for my fellow older classmates is the Freshman 15 is real and it applies to all college students not just the young ones who live on campus. I am finding that I have to make exercise a priority again because since starting school I traded regular exercise for homework, computer research, and Oreo cookies.

I’m almost back on track. I started going back to Bikram yoga and I walk 2 miles during lunch twice a week. So far I have lost about 4 of the 10 lbs I gained. I have not officially given up the Oreo cookies but I have been incorporating more proteins, fruits, and veggies back into my diet and I use exercise as comfort, not food.

Xan Bullock is student in the HIM program. She is 40+, loving life and surprisingly school too!

