Student Success Stories

Claire Davis, SPS ’13 shares her thoughts on why she selected the Adult Learning Graduate Certificate Program at SPS:

I am currently working as a genetic counselor and as the assistant director of the Master of Genetic Counseling Program at the Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai. One of my responsibilities is facilitating a course entitled “Psychosocial Supervision” that provides students with the opportunity to explore core counseling concepts and skills. This course has been very rewarding, so much so that I wanted to be a better teacher for my students. To help me help them make more progress via creative and informed educational interventions, I enrolled in the Adult Learning Graduate Certificate Program at the CUNY School of Professional Studies. Claire Davis, SPS Spring 2013 Graduate

I have appreciated the extensive impact of my learning at CUNY; the program increased my understanding of adult learning theory, facilitation techniques, and myself as an educator. My professors strengthened my commitment to working with adult learners by their examples, and they consistently encouraged me to dig deeper and go farther with my education.

I have wanted to pursue a doctorate degree for quite some time but the Adult Learning Graduate Certificate Program at CUNY helped me discover the field that is right for me. Because of this program, I applied to the Adult Education Guided Intensive Study (AEGIS) Program at Teachers College, Columbia University and I have been accepted into the cohort that begins in June of this year. In many ways, CUNY has played a pivotal, priceless role in my continued education and professional development.

