On Sunday, September 9th, we at CUNY School of Professional Studies will participate in our first Komen Greater NYC Race for the Cure in Central Park. We are honored to run and walk among over 21,000 breast cancer survivors and supporters to build awareness for this very important cause.

To prepare the CUNY SPS team for Race Day, we’ve summoned the help of our marathon runner correspondent and current student, Alexandra Hertel. Throughout the next month, Alexandra will serve as our official Komen Race for the Cure blogger during which time she’ll share her personal experiences and tips about race training. Remember, you can join the CUNY SPS team at any time from now until September 6th by visiting www.komennyc.org/race.

We look forward to seeing you there!


I am grateful for my life.
I am grateful for the opportunities I have in my life. Because of opportunities like schooling at CUNY’s School of Professional Studies, I can be successful in many ways.

I am a Student:
I am a full-time student. I was recently awarded the Stephen M. Rossen Scholarship for the 2012-2013 academic year. I am excited to continue my studies and demonstrate why I received this award.

I am a Mother:
I am a single mother. In all areas of my life, I strive to demonstrate positive values to my daughter, who is now embarking on her second year of college at the College of Staten Island.

I am an Employee:
I work full-time selling event sponsorship and exhibits for conferences in the life sciences industry. My work is incredibly rewarding because ultimately, I am helping companies market and grow their businesses.

I am a Citizen:
I never thought I would be writing about the importance of getting involved in a cause. How can being a part of something bigger than myself change me? In fact, it has. It would be fair to say that allowing myself to be part of a larger cause has not only changed me, but also has saved my life. You’ll have to keep reading to find out how!

I’ve been invited to share my story as a student blogger and weekly correspondent. Our journey begins now as we prepare for the Susan G. Komen Race for the Cure event on September 9th. I’m thrilled to be a part of it and for this opportunity to get to know our student community. I promise to be open, honest and unguarded. I will share all the good (and challenging) moments that I encounter as WE prepare for the Susan G. Komen race, and as I continue on in my journey toward the ING NYC Marathon on behalf of the American Cancer Society (Team DetermiNation) this Fall. Please visit http://bit.ly/CUNYSPS to visit our team page and join. I promise, you won’t regret it.

Alexandra Hertel is an Ohioan living in Brooklyn, New York. She attends CUNY’s School of Professional Studies and works full-time in the events industry.

