I remember, just before returning to school every fall, thinking for weeks and weeks how I would answer that question. Would I tell my classmates about a trip to the beach, or attending sleep-away camp, or a summer job? Since my birthday is at the end of August it was fun talking to my classmates about the cool birthday gift I received or the good time I had at my party. No matter what, I wanted to have an exciting story to tell every year! I also loved hearing about all the interesting things they’d been doing.

So, now, I ask you the question: What did YOU do on your summer vacation? Did you find a new job or internship? Maybe you got a promotion or finished a big project? As July draws to a close and you start preparing for another busy Fall semester, have you been making the most of the break and getting ahead on your job search?Vacation From Work

Even though classes start in another month, there is still time. There are a multitude of career services available to you from SPS – so take advantage now! We are committed to helping you reach academic, personal and professional goals and achieve career success. Our career programs are flexible and accessible, utilizing a mix of the latest in technology and traditional methods of advisement to meet your diverse needs. Here’s a quick overview of what is offered:

The Basics: Resumes, Cover Letters, Interviewing and Networking
Job Search: Assessment and Exploration, Career Advisement and Online Tools
Internships: Guidelines and Support
Workshops and Resources: Workshops and Webinars, Online Resource Library

Contact me today and we can get started! I can’t wait to hear about your summer vacation and tell you about mine!

Shannon Gallo is the Manager of Career Services at the CUNY School of Professional Studies and a proud new first time mommy. When she’s not helping others achieve their career dreams, she’s cheering on the West Virginia Mountaineers.

