Are you an optimist or pessimist?

There’s only one way to find out.

Technology Abstract World Background as Clip Art Stock Photo - 5810965

I find it amazing that so much has progressed in our society—medical, education, economics, and even in technology.  The experience I’ve had thus far has surprisingly helped me.  I say surprisingly because with knowledge  comes more responsibility.  I guess I’m a bit torn with how certain processes are given more clout over others.  More importantly, how people’s jobs are being eliminated every day through these processes.  For instance, the payroll accounting clerk’s position is being stream-lined to one position, which would normally take two people to handle. The merging of organizational models can cause people to lose their jobs.

But, as I’m finding out, the world is emerging into newly uncharted waters which will only allow for minimum human interaction through face-to-face communication.  The wave of the Internet can be attributed to this fact.  The Internet has helped to create a new world where anything remotely is possible. The once needed jobs of previous years are becoming a distant memory.   How do you tell a worker that has dedicated their life to a company for 40 plus years that they’re no longer needed?  Or how do you make sense of the term “outsourced?”  Streamline, outsource and cutbacks backs can only mean one thing—fewer jobs.

The new ways in which company models are being reorganized are quite alarming.  Everything is being digitized, and the need to process paperwork are diminished by an idea of “becoming more efficient.”  So what does that really mean?  The term globalization has a lot to with it.  You see, the great minds of this world are working non-stop to find ways to communicate and collaborate beyond time and space while using fewer resources.  There used to be a time when you called up a company seeking assistance on a legitimate business matter and you’d actually talked to someone in your neck of the woods. But that model is becoming a thing of the past by today’s standards.  For example, if you happen to call your telephone company, don’t be alarmed to find that the voice on the other end is actually someone in India!  I understand that the wave of the future is technology, technology, technology, but I’m also sensitive to the way people’s lives are affected. Someone will more than likely lose their job because of it.

There is a book that actually explains how globalization has affected how we currently conduct business and our future endeavors to come. The World is Flat is a book written by NY Times columnist, Thomas L. Friedman.  In his book, he describes several factors of his theory of why the world is becoming flattened—I’m convinced he isn’t off the mark one bit.  The concept of “flattening is a process where all global economies are inter-woven,” as he explained in an MIT class forum.  Countries that were once too far removed to do business or even exchange ideas with are literally our next door neighbors.

Technology is at the center of it all.

I play a role in this wave of the future by attending online classes part-time at CUNY’s School of Professional Studies.  If technology creates a successful educational epidemic, there will come a time when universities across the country will shut its doors for good.  I’ve never seen any of my professors, classmates, or faculty personnel  to date.  The convenience of technology has a nice ring to it, but I still enjoy the company of people every now and then.  Will it make us better as a people? I’m not sure.  Will it help us communicate with others in a more innovate and meaningful way? I think so.  I also like the fact that I can meet people within a similar educational platform in order to stimulate my mind.

I have learned new ideas and techniques that were designed to make one better at what they do, whatever that may be.  Incidentally, the industry that I work in has transitioned over the course of ten years steadily.  It’s a tricky market, but one that has taken a beaten overall while creating new advances in technology.  Economically, my industry has taken huge losses.   Revenue has steadily declined.  We haven’t figured out all of the answers, but for the most part there is success ahead.

I want to give a big thanks to Professor J. Driver for giving me additional tools that will help my endeavors throughout my academic  journey.

Sources:

The World is Flat by Thomas L. Friedman

MIT Video Clip

Photo Image:  Technology

