I’m on my eighth week of the Extreme Home Fitness system P90X and I am so bored.  I started working out in 2007.  At that time I was in a transition period and I wanted to simplify many things in my life. Working out helped me to feel better about myself, while I dealt with a lot of personal issues.

I started off by doing free workouts on Time Warner’s Exercise TV On Demand.  As I got more into it, I decided to buy workout DVDs, as well as yoga DVDs.  My favorite cardio DVD workouts are TurboJam and TurboFire with Chalene Johnson.  Fast forward four years and many workouts, I purchased P90X. I stumbled upon the infomercial one day and always wanted to try it, so when I saw it on EBay for $39.95 I knew I couldn’t pass that deal up.

I really like the trainer Tony Horton; he’s knowledgeable, funny and keeps you motivated throughout.  Here’s my problem… too much weight training and not enough cardio. I’m a cardio junkie and I need to sweat buckets in order to feel like I’ve had a good workout.  Weight training, doesn’t bring my heart rate up enough.  There are cardio workouts in the P90X system, but they are far from the high intensity that I was used to doing throughout the years.  A definite plus about the weight training, is that I’ve definitely gotten very toned, but I’m feeling too bulky, my weight has gone up and I’m not burning any fat, just building muscle.  So how do I get the weight training benefits of P90X and still get my high intensity cardio?

I’ve come up with an idea off combining P90X and TurboFire workouts.  Both of these home workouts have a week to week workout schedule.  My plan is to do one week of weight training with the P90X and then one week of high intensity cardio with the TurboFire workouts, alternating weeks until I finish both programs.  This way my muscles never get a chance to get used to anything because I’ll be constantly changing my movements. Hopefully, I’ll get the results that I’m looking for, toned and lean muscles. I know it sounds like a lot, but I’m up for the challenge and I love working out.

If anyone else wants to join me in this challenge, let me know and we can keep each other motivated.  Wish me luck.

Martine Chevry received her B.A. in Communications and Culture from the CUNY School of Professional Studies in June 2011.  She currently works as an Editorial Assistant and lives in Queens, New York. Martine is currently planning on self publishing her first novel in Spring 2012. She enjoys writing, working out, shopping, reading and reality television.

