Its been a little over two months since graduation and I had so many plans as to what I wanted to do once June 7th passed. I was going to read more (because all my reading time was used reading class material). I was going to spend more time with my daughter. I was going to use some free time for yoga and I even thought about just doing absolutely nothing. Well, that’s hard to do. I’m a writer and I have to do things and live life in order to be inspired, right?

I read Walter Mosely’s book, This Year You Write Your Novel. He had a lot of great and simple tips for stalled writers such as myself.

“My only ritual for writing is that I do it every morning. I wake up and get to work. If I’m in a motel in Mobile — so be it. If I am up all night, and morning is two o’clock in the afternoon, well, that’s okay too.

The only thing that matters is that you write, write, write. It doesn’t have to be good writing. As a matter of fact, almost all first drafts are pretty bad. What matters is that you get down the words on the page or the screen — or into the tape recorder, if you work like that.”

He has a point. Write, write, write Martine! I thought that I should continue my education , but if I fill my time with classes, when will I have free time to write? It’s like I’m scared to be great or somethin. I keep asking myself these questions:  Write every day, like Mosely suggests? Should I apply for an MFA in Creative Writing or just write? Do I need an MFA to become a successful writer? Isn’t it all about the work and the craft? So if I just sit down and write every day, won’t it come easier.  Do I need to pay an institution thousands of dollars to help me do something I can do by myself if I just do the work and write?

As it stands right now, I don’t want to tie myself down to another 2 years of studies. I’d rather work on my almost finished novel, self publish it and maybe look into the MFA programs, at least go to the information sessions, but I’m not going to throw all my eggs into one basket. The program will definitely help me perfect my craft, but right now I need to develop my voice and a consistent writing routine.  So here I am, writing.

Source: Mosely,Walter (2007). This Year You Write Your Novel. New York: Little, Brown and Company.

Martine Chevry received her B.A. in Communications and Culture from the CUNY School of Professional Studies in June 2011.  She currently works as an Editorial Assistant and lives in Queens, New York. Martine is currently planning on self publishing her first novel in Spring 2012. She enjoys writing, working out, shopping, reading and reality television.

