When we look around we can see culture and many aspects of it. Since attending the CUNY School of Professor Studies and being in the process of going for a B.A in Communication and Culture, I am learning a great deal about culture and how it shapes us and the world around us. Culture is something that we are all a part of in some way and it molds our personalities and our lives. Culture can involve something as simple as the clothes we wear all the way to our daily routines. It makes us who we and what we are. Sometimes we don’t even realize that what we do and don’t do is because of our culture. Culture and diversity go together and aides us in sharing our world with the people around us. Growing up and reaching adulthood, our culture is shaping who we are, we are exposed to it as a young age and our personal beliefs and goals may transform but our culture will always be with us, somewhere.

Since taking classes about culture, I started thinking about how diverse New York is and much how much culture there is in this state. I enjoy seeing so many ethnic groups all joined together in one place. It is amazing to have the opportunity to get to know people for who they are as human beings. When looking around, I am able to see and speak to individuals from other parts of the world. They share their heritage with me and I share mine with them as well. I think that differences in culture bring people together and it shows us that although we are different, we are the same in many ways. Taking a little time to get to know people that don’t share your beliefs and customs is imperative; it makes other more aware of the differences that we all share.

Culture is a enormous part of the world today and it has had lasting effect on the world. Culture can be taught to us at a young age but it also can be picked up by our surroundings and our environment. Taking culture targeted classes has educated me about the impact that culture has on the world. Before reading and learning more, I never really thought about culture. But now I am able to see the bigger picture of how unique different cultures are.

I think it is great to praise diversity and to get to know people outside of our culture. When I walk around my neighborhood, I can observe different people all coming from different backgrounds and holding true to their cultures. Living in a state with such diversity, where the people are all dissimilar helps to understand the true meaning of culture. I am eager to take more Communication class at the CUNY School of Professional Studies and gain more knowledge about the world around me. I encourage you all to try to meet new people with different cultures, share your ideas with them and bring the world closer together, because deep down we are all the same.

Amy Bolick is a Communication and Culture major at the CUNY School of Professional Studies. She enjoys reading, traveling and writing. Her goal is to one day be an author of children’s books so she can educate children and teach them life lessons.

