How connected are we?  Take the survey and share your thoughts!

Africa and its Diaspora

I recently watched the African Day parade which traveled down my street in Harlem, and attended the festival in Marcus Garvey park. It was a paradoxical experience for me. On one hand, it felt familiar, and I felt connected. I saw familiar skin tones that spoke different languages, and heard rhythms that I felt on a cosmic level. On the other hand, I felt as if I were in the midst of distant relatives that I had never seen and may never really know. And this, in a nutshell, is the relationship between Africa and her diaspora as I see it in America.

Having been raised in the Bronx and Harlem and living in Harlem now, I have been and continue to be nurtured by the spirit of a rich diversity whose foundation is rooted in African culture, and expressed through African, African American, Latino and Caribbean presence and culture. I am a child of the 70s, and Africa was infused in the soundtrack and landscape of my upbringing. Black was a beautiful desire to connect to the continent, almost as a respite from the deterioration of the Bronx and Harlem at that time.

I have also, unfortunately, witnessed divisions and misunderstandings. From overheard negative statements and to conversations that I have witnessed over the years among my older relatives, there is a definite distrust of the unfamiliar, and a fearful unwillingness to become familiar that exists even to this day.

This country is becoming more polarized with each passing day, so it is increasingly important to examine the sources of all of our divisions and close the gaps where possible. I have decided to start with my own community.

So where do you think Africa and its diaspora stand – are we united or divided? Take this survey and add your voice to the conversation.

Miriam Moore is currently enrolled in online courses at The CUNY School of Professional Studies. Follow her on Twitter

